h1

Professional Development

March 19, 2011

Lately, I have been doing a lot of professional development online.  One site that has been very useful is Simple K12.  A cool site with webinars and handouts.  One site that I used this week was Class Tools. They have a bunch of different gadgets on it, but I especially liked the Random Name Selector and the Countdown Timer.

The Random Name Selector was great.  I input the names of the kids before class and it selected them rather than me.  It was a great!  I didn’t feel like I was playing favorites and it kept them on their toes.

The Countdown Timer was also very useful.  I told the kids that had to be quiet for the alloted time and if they were they could talk for the rest of the period. They were silent.

One kid said, “Where do you find these things?”

Go to Simple K12.  It is definitely worth the time.

Leave a Reply

