h1

Vocabulary/Wordia

October 18, 2010

 

This week “Wordia.”  Today I passed out a list of vocabulary word for the first 5 chapters of Hoot and an accompanying wordia worksheet.  The introduction was about my favorite word, which is opt, and why I like it and what it means. Then I read off the words and instructed the kids to select any word from this list, and told them that this will be your word for the week.  I then logged on to Wordia and showed them the definition of delightful, the “wordia” way.

The worksheet is similar to the format of wordia, except that I included how the word is used in the book.

I think the kids seemed excited. At least they were excited about choosing their word and not having to learn all of the words.

Third Eye:  For the next unit, whole book, I will present all the vocabulary words from the book, and have each kid get a different one.

Leave a Reply

